Ashley E. Kingsley

Women as Entrepreneurs

In Uncategorized on January 15, 2011 at 3:54 am

Someone recently asked me to write about what it was like being a woman, an entrepreneur and a mom… this is what I wrote.

Women Entrepreneurs

I am a Mom, a Wife, a business woman, an entrepreneur.

I am a Mom to Scout, our 4.5 year old daughter with a non-stop, playful and wild demeanor and Sawyer, our 18-month old son who goes with the flow and has dimples worthy of springtime planting. We are blessed.

I am luckily married to a patient, loving and kind-hearted gentleman for 8 years. He is my rock. I am the one who changes his pace weather he likes it, or not.

I ventured into independent consulting in 2005 through 2010 in marketing and public relations, and that is what geared me up for my next entrepreneurial venture.

In the spring of 2010, I launched Daily Deals for Moms, www.dailydealsformoms.com I don’t need a deal on sky diving or fancy limo rides; I want deals on purchases that make sense for my family. I saw that Moms were being left out by big conglomerate deal sites. Notably, moms hold the purse strings; responsible for over 4 trillion in annual spending. It was very clear to me what I needed to do; fill a very powerful niche market.

o   COMPANY:  Daily Deals for Moms

o   INDUSTRY:  Social Couponing/Marketing/Advertising

o   FOUDNERS:  2 Founders

o   STAFF:  2 Full Time Independent Contractors

o   FINANCIALS: Unavailable

You can call it juggling, no doubt about it, really clever circus management.  Building, managing and running a successful company and household is no easy feat. In fact, just this week, I burned my nipple cooking dinner and accidentally steam cleaned our carpet with DRANO.

The grind is tough. But you already knew that. And, I believe it is totally manageable, with sanity intact, I’m not sure and I am not saying it is always graceful, or ever graceful, for that matter.

I don’t believe that we can DO IT ALL, ALL THE TIME. Sometimes, work does suffer, time with my kids gets cut short. My marriage is always last. Oh, wait, second to last. I am usually last on the list of people or things to take care of.  My husband and I are good friends right now and we are both really comfortable with this. I am his biggest fan as he is mine. We love and respect one another so deeply. Passion is something we have to work our way toward. We still aren’t sleeping through the night –Baby steps.

I wouldn’t trade a moment of it.  I understand that everything, no matter what, has an ebb and flow.

It is an extremely exciting time to be in the social couponing industry, especially the niche target I have chosen.  It is an exciting time to be a woman; we have so many opportunities and to live the life that we choose for ourselves. I want this for me. I want this for my daughter.  CHOICE and OPPORTUNITY.

So I juggle kids and an exciting venture, my lovely husband. I do my best. I give it my best. I do, every day. Some days are better than others.  Some nights I pour my wine full to the brim. Some evenings I take to yoga. Some nights, I don’t sleep at all and my face is beginning to show a lot of character; and I am thankful.

 

  1. Nicely written! I especially love your honesty about your marriage. I agree, if we just keep rotating what we put on the back burner the we can do it all!

  2. Ashley, this is why you are amazing, life happens and you are fully engaged in it. In every moment and every each chapter. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

